I Never Meant To Say Goodbye

Guest claire_louise

Ok...I'm a bit of a writer but I've never done a fanfic before, so please don't totally destroy me! :P Hope you like it.

Chapter One

The night that my husband was taken away from me was the worst night of my life. I remember very little of what actually took place; the doctor’s sedative took care of that. What I do remember is the pain. When they talk of a being broken-hearted, I never thought that it would actually feel like my heart was breaking – ripping unbearably in two. I never thought that the pain would be so intense it would numb me to everything else in the world, becoming the centre of my existence, the only thing I was capable of feeling, crippling me from the inside out. Once you’ve felt pain like that you can never go back. But I didn’t want to. I knew what it was like to lose the person you care about more than life itself, and I didn’t intend to let it happen again. Someway, somehow, I was going to get my husband back.

Kirsty Phillips leant into the bus window and craned her neck to see the ‘Welcome to Summer Bay’ sign sail into view. The sight of it caused her stomach to involuntarily flip over. It had been five years and it still looked the same. She wondered if that could be said for the rest of the town and, more specifically, its residents. Banishing such worries from her mind, she felt the bus draw to a halt and collected her bags together, feeling weary from the long journey. She hadn’t been able to afford luxury travel and as a result it had taken her all day to get there. Still, that was the least she had to cope with. There was still the matter of where she was going to stay that night. She’d thought of going home, but realised that she wasn’t even sure where that was anymore. Home is where the heart is, or so they said, but in that case her home would be the delights of Melbourne’s finest prison.