Dan's Demise

Guest Lady Stardust

This is my first attempt at a fan fiction! I'm not sure how all you guys write such great stories... It's hard!

What makes mine harder still is that it's a mystery. Therefore I have to try and be clever in my wording. Please bear with me as this is my first fan fic - I've no idea if it's the right style or if I'm getting the reaction I hope for...so please give me your feedback!

I will try and update you all with more chapters as soon as I can!

Dan's Demise

Chapter 1

(Voiceover)

“It was too easy. Far too easy.”

(At hospital)

Dan’s hand shook as he failed to reach for his gas mask. His lips trembled, the fear and shame at not being able to utter the words “I didn’t” were almost too overpowering. He felt faint. Leah thought he had tried to kill himself… Had he? No, no, it’s not possible. Had he drunk alcohol? He remembered drinking, yet felt so innocent. He remembered a gas station attendant with sandy coloured hair. He remembered the sandy coloured dust as he was hauled from his car by a sandy-haired paramedic. He remembered opening the bottle. Had he?

Peter Baker had his suspicions. His brother had been drinking the night before VJ was in his care. He didn’t believe his brother could steer clear of alcohol through guilt, because it was exactly that kind of guilt that drove people to despair, that drove people into trees.

Alone at the scene of the accident, he carefully picked up the plastic bottle laid just in view under the crushed car. Coke… innocent enough. Yet it was this innocence that lead VJ to a near death experience. He felt relieved, yet confused even more. He wanted to believe that Dan hadn’t done it. He wanted to have faith in him. Surely Dan wouldn’t really run head on into a tree?

(Sinister voiceover)